h1

Look At Me!

August 16, 2010

I canned pickles!

How new and different! (I’ve never canned before)….how random!  I always thought my first canning experience would be with peaches or jam or something.   But I was introduced to Bountiful Baskets by Jeanne Marie and Crystal, an awesome produce co-op where you opt in weekly for $15 and receive pretty much a laundry basket full of produce, half fruit and half veggies.  Apart from being a good deal and helping our family to eat healthy, I love Bountiful Baskets for the “iron chef”  aspect of it.  It’s exciting to see what I’ll have to work with the following week and plan our meals around the produce.  I”ve made lots of recipes I would never have tried had I not had the produce on hand including, stuffed red peppers, bruschetta, rigatoni with eggplant puree….and this last week I look in the basket and what the pickling cucumbers?!? So I canned pickles and I’m proud of them.  Although we’ll have to wait three weeks to see if it was a success.

2 comments

  1. Awesome! If I was there I would come have a canning party with you. 🙂 Not that I’ve done much canning in my life, but it would be fun to learn. And hang out! It was fun to see Brad’s mom at the temple last week. We miss you guys!


  2. They look great! My mom canned pickles every year, and they were the best. We got so many cucumbers this year that I should have tried it. Your meals all sound delicious!



Leave a comment